That pesky Neuropathy!

So the up and down issues continue along with some additional issues that I could do without. The last couple of weeks have continued to offer their challenges with up and down muscle/tendon type pains and increased neuropathy issues. In particular the burning in my knees has flared multiple times and I’m getting the uncomfortable pin prick type sensations throughout every day at the moment. Both of these are a worsening of symptoms I could do without. I’m also finding that my right eye vision is frequently more blurry and is having a noticeable impact on my vision in general. I did get my eyes tested last week and although my prescription has changed quite a bit in a year he didn’t notice anything suspicious in the eye health or pressure test. I think I will mention it to my GP on my next visit because something is going on there… yet another thing!

In addition to that the prostate concern continues with additional blood taken to day to test PSA levels, full count and a number of other markers. I am concerned about this and hope that it is a case of a benign prostate related issue. I also have an echocardiogram in a couple of weeks time to check out my heart, I don’t imagine they will find anything of concern but it’s good to be checked out anyway.

In my last post I mentioned I had a GP appointment booked and that went well. The GP who isn’t one I have seen very often was pretty interested in the Cipro reaction and asked quite a few questions. He also said he would arrange for some physio and gave me some details about getting help with general wellbeing and dealing with the stress of this whole situation. I wish there was some way to reduce or eradicate the neuropathy and allow the muscles to strengthen again. The pin pricking isn’t debilitating but it is pretty annoying, it’s the tendon twitches, muscle aches and joint pains that cause the most restriction and pain. I know that I’m suffering a bunch of symptoms of autoimmune disease and mitochondrial damage caused by the medicine but the uncertainty of recovery and timescales plays on my mind daily… there’s no doubt I’m somewhat consumed by the situation with my health above pretty much anything else which isn’t unexpected considering without my health my options in life are vastly reduced.

Stress levels have been much higher as well which I think is impacting my mood, my sleep and my physical floxing symptoms. Life is throwing everything including the kitchen sink in our general direction at the moment and it really is overwhelming at times. All I know is that life throws up many challenges and many surprises, some good and some bad, we just have to try and wade through and make the best of what we can.

Leave a Reply

