Difficult week

The last week has been pretty tough having to deal with increasing health issues and my partners grandmothers funeral. Unfortunately it seems that I’m having some problems with my prostate again which is what I was given the Ciprofloxacin for almost 2 years ago. If that is the case then all the Ciprofloxacin damage, the ill health, the continued attempt to recover and impact on my life have all been for nothing. Having spent a large proportion of last Saturday emptying my bladder, well over 20 visits something is clearly not too happy. Added to that is the uncomfortable feeling when I sit and fairly constant discomfort below all seem to indicate a problem in that area once again. 

I’ll see an emergency gp this afternoon to get it checked out but I know something is wrong it’s just not clear what. If it’s an infection then all I have available is antibiotics but most of them don’t help with prostate issues and there’s no way I’ll take Ciprofloxacin or similar again, not unless it’s life or death. 

The other possibility is BPH or an enlarged prostate but why? I know age makes this more likely and I am heading towards that age where things start to have issues. Of course the Ciprofloxacin ADR has aged me, physically I feel 10 to 20 years older and struggle to do what most 60 years olds seem to be able to do.

I have another gp appointment already booked for Friday to discuss my recent MRI results and what options there are for treatments. That on top of running over the situation with the ADR symptoms and how I tackle improving from them. I had already decided that I need to get more structure and routine into doing light exercise in the hope it strengthens the muscles and connective tissues that have been depleted since Ciprofloxacin. My consultant is fairly adamant that I will be fine and it takes a lot to damage your body but as I know from other people’s stories, our bodies are very much weakened and those connective tissues are prone to damage. So I’ll be taking it easy and using the swimming as a supportive way to exercise with minimal impact along with walks a few times a week or as I feel able.

All I need is a break to get on with life for a bit! Every time I plan to start something like an exercise routine of sorts another health issue pops up or my FQ symptoms flare making it difficult to be mobile. It drives me nuts!

Leave a Reply

