A weekend away!

In the last 5 years or so I’ve returned to my roots and have developed a taste for… country music! I used to hear it as a kid, my grandfather used to play his vinyl records featuring Glen Campbell, Loretta Lynn, Gene Autry and others. I’ve always had a broad taste in music listening to anything from Classical, Jazz through to Hard Rock and Folk but I hadn’t listened to a lot of country for many years. Then when I met Caroline and we got together country music was reintroduced into my life as she is a bit fan of country music and all things Americana.

So I’ve now had 5 years of regular country listening which includes watching Caroline in the country band she was the singer in and also attending the main UK country music festival for the last 3 years. The event is held in multiple locations, London, Dublin and Glasgow and for the last 2 years we have attended the Dublin event. London is the main event and includes a bunch of popup stages with acts on during the day, interviews with CMA acts and local talent, stalls selling related merchandise and more. So a year ago we booked to attend London this year, that booking was made 3 months before I was “floxed”

So a week ago I was on the verge of trying to sell the tickets if I could but I knew I’d lose the hotel which I couldn’t cancel. I felt pretty sad that we probably wouldn’t be able to go, yet another trip would be lost and a bunch of memories not made because my health has been turned upside down by Ciprofloxacin. I sat and thought hard about it and I decided that I wanted to try to attend, I wanted something, anything, just to feel normal. I knew it would be hard and that what we could do would be limited but I felt it was worth the risk.

So Caroline drove to the train station and we took the train down to London. We were staying in a hotel near to the venue and used “Uber” to get cheapish transport to the venue and back every day minimising the walking I needed to do. That being said, I still had to do a fair amount of hobbling around and standing and it was hard on my body. But I made it through the weekend even though at times I felt pretty unwell, I still battled through it. We got to see some world class country music artists including Miranda Lambert, Carrie Underwood, Chris Stapleton, Kacey Musgraves and Eric Church.

I also got to meet Ashley and Shannon Campbell, the daughter and son of the legend that is Glen Campbell. It was a great memory to have and I got to have a brief chat to them and got a couple of photos to keep.

20160313_150909

Me and Ashley Campbell

20160313_152002

With Shannon Campbell in the black coat and Eli Bishop the bands fiddle player

I’m glad I went but it was hard work and my body let me know it wasn’t too happy with the amount of walking. I’m now suffering as a result 2 days after getting home with body wide muscle aches, headache, weakness and dizziness. Still we gained some memories to cherish and I had a little normality even if it was just for a couple of days. I just hope these symptoms settle down pretty quickly!

Leave a Reply

